2017 Annual Conference: Oct 21st!


Mark your calendars today for the 2017 KCADP Annual Conference!


It will be Oct. 21st in McPherson from 1 to 3:30 p.m.


Speakers are being finalized and will be announced soon along with registration details.


This is an event you won’t want to miss!



Spreading the Word by Carolyn Zimmerman


I became an advocate at the invitation of someone who was already involved in this important work.


Whether you share your personal experience of commitment to abolition or express your financial support of the cause, you can help grow the movement. There are many opportunities and examples of how individuals can quietly – but effectively – share their dedication to causes.

  • You might write an article or give a short presentation for your faith community.
  • Offer to speak to your favorite civic group or reading club.
  • Post on Facebook or another internet site.
  • Submit a “Thought for the Day” or a “Letter to the Editor” to your local newspaper.


Sometimes, if you are alert and brave, the most surprising and satisfying turn of events occurs, one that you hadn’t really planned. Somehow, over a cup of coffee with a good friend, the opening appears straight out of the blue and you have the chance to engage in a deeper subject. Your reward may well be capturing a new champion for the cause!”

Kansan Carolyn Zimmerman is a murder victim family member who advocates in support of abolition.  


Remembering Bob Hessman: Man of Faith and Courage

    Over the years, we have been blessed by the witness of Bob Hessman and his family as they dealt with the loss of their beloved Mary Mel Eesa Rains to homicide.   Bob and his family talked of the challenges they faced after her murder, and how they drew strength from their faith and family…

Death Penalty Photo Exhibit

    It’s not often that we have an opportunity to understand the death penalty through excellent photography.   Donnelly College in Kansas City is sponsoring a death penalty photo exhibit featuring the works of Scott Langley, an accomplished photojournalist.   The exhibit can be viewed from now til April 7 in the Meeting Room…

A Journey Into the U.S. Death Penalty through Photos and Stories

      “A Journey into the U.S. Death Penalty through Photos and Stories

” Thursday March 23rd, 2017 from 6:30 to 8:00 p.m.

 Matt Ross Community Center, Crown Room,  8101 Marty Street, Overland Park, KS 66204   Join us for this informative event.  It is free and open to the public!   The presenter is…